01463 663439

Crofting votes counted in second election – results announced


The outcome of the second election of members to the Crofting Commission Board was announced today. The count, to elect 6 Commissioners, took place this morning at the offices of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar in Stornoway.

Candidates stood in six crofting constituencies. As only 1 candidate stood in each of the Orkney & Caithness and Shetland constituencies, Cyril Annal (for Orkney & Caithness) and Andy Holt (for Shetland) were elected unopposed.

The successful candidates in the other four constituencies are:
• East Highlands – Rod MacKenzie with 181 votes
• South West Highlands – Billy Neilson with 201 votes
• West Highlands -  Mairi MacKenzie with 694 votes
• Western Isles – Iain MacIver with 1069 votes.

Scottish Government have issued a press release which can be viewed here.

A full set of results detailing votes cast by preference for each area will be released shortly by Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, as the election administrator. The full results will also show voter turnout.

Speaking for the Commission, Chief Executive Bill Barron said, “I would like to congratulate the successful candidates and thank everyone who stood for election. I look forward to meeting each of the Commissioners and welcoming them to the Commission. They will join the three appointed Commissioners and, along with all the staff at the Commission, I am determined to provide the best possible support to the new Board, as they take on the responsibilities of leading the Crofting Commission for this new term.”


Crofting Roadshows 2017

The Crofting Commission will be appointing a new panel of Assessors in Spring 2018. If you are part of a crofting community and want to be more involved join us at a crofting roadshow near you to find out more about the role of Assessors and a general update on Commission activities.
TIME: 7:30 - 9pm

20 November - Ayre Hotel, Kirkwall

21 November - Busta House Hotel, Brae, Shetland

22 November - Rogart Hall, Rogart

29 November - Falls of Lora Hotel, Connel

30 November - Nevis Centre, Fort William

4 December - Dark Island Hotel, Benbecula

5 December - Caladh Inn Hotel, Stornoway

6 December - Gairloch Village Hall, Gairloch

Coimisean na Croitearachd, Taigh a’ Ghlinne Mhòir, Rathad na Leacainn, Inbhir Nis IV3 8NW

F: 01463 663439


© Crofting Commission 2017Site MapSite by Plexus